King shall rejoice: Coronation Anthem - Vocal Score

Catalog: BA10259-90

Price: $14.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The King shall rejoice, HWV 270 (Coronation Anthem)

This volume is part of a collection that presents Handel Coronation Anthems in Urtext editions for the first time.

For Mixed choir (SAATBB), Oboe (2), Bassoon (2), Trumpet (3), Timpani, Violin (3), Viola and Basses (Violoncello, Double bass, Bassoon and Organ).

“Zadok the Priest” and “The King shall rejoice” are the best-known of the four coronation anthems that Handel wrote for the crowning of George II in London (1727). HWV 258 accompanied the king’s anointment, HWV 260 his actual coronation.

Thanks to their festive and majestic structure befitting the occasion as well as their spacious scoring for large choir and orchestra, it comes as no surprise that motifs from “Zadok the Priest” have found their way into the official hymn of the UEFA Champions League.

The present editions by the authoritative Handel scholar Stephan Blaut are the first to offer these two anthems based on the Urtext from the “Halle Handel Edition”.

  • Bilingual Forewords in German and English 
  • Idiomatic piano reductions
  • Based on the Halle Handel Edition

This vocal score is edited by Stephan Blaut and arranged by Andreas Kohs. Text in English with commentary in German and English.

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Handel, G. F.
Arranger/Editor: Blaut, Stephan
Catalog Number: BA10259-90
Pages: 32

Related Products: