Creation, Hob. XXI No. 2 - Vocal Score

Catalog: BA4648-90

Price: $19.76

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The Creation, Hob. XXI No. 2: Oratorio in three parts

The oratorio “The Creation” represents not only a crucial point in Joseph Haydn‘s compositional output, but at the same time, marks the beginning of a new chapter in the history of the oratorio. At the turn of the 19th century, Haydn broke with the traditional dominance of the arias, giving the chorus a distinctly greater significance. This opened the way for a new kind of choral oratorio which became one of the standard features of developing bourgeois concert life.

The plot is divided into three parts; Part One portrays the first four days of creation with the genesis of the world, the plants and the firmament, and in Part Two the animals are included.

Part Three takes as its theme the life of the first people, Adam and Eve, with the oratorio culminating in two major closing choruses of praise and thanks. The text, translated from the English original by Baron van Swieten, Prefect of the imperial court library in Vienna, combines prose texts of the creation story in Luther’s translation of the bible with complementary excerpts from John Milton’s “Paradise Lost” (duration: approx. 110 mins ).

  • New edition based on the Urtext from the Complete Edition of “Joseph Haydn’s Works"  published by G. Henle Verlag
  • Vocal score with a contemporary piano reduction by A. E. Muller, revised by A. Kohs
  • Excellent presentation on the page

For Soprano solo, Tenor solo, Bass solo, Mixed choir (SATB), Flute (2), Oboe (2), Clarinet (in B-flat) (2), Bassoon (2), Contrabassoon, Horn (2), Trumpet (2), Trombone (3), Timpani, Violin (2), Viola, Violoncello and Double bass.

Urtext edition. Vocal score edited by Annette Oppermann and arranged by August Eberhard Muller and Andreas Kohs. Text in German and English.

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Haydn, Franz Joseph
Arranger/Editor: Oppermann, Annette
Catalog Number: BA4648-90
Pages: 201