Kyrie, RV 587 - Vocal Score

Catalog: BA8950-90

Price: $10.95

2 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Kyrie, RV 587

For Soprano solo, Alto solo, Mixed choir (SATB) (Coro I und II) Orchestra (Coro I und II) : Violin (2), Viola and Basso continuo (Violoncello, Double bass and Organ).

Today the “Gloria” RV 589 is one of Vivaldi’s best-known compositions and one of the mostfrequently performed sacred vocal works from the Baroque period. Vivaldi wrote the “Gloria” as a self-contained work in the style of a concertante mass. However, it was probably also performed within church services. The scoring of the solo voices (SSA) suggests that the work was written during his period at the Ospedale della Pieta, around 1716. In the twelve movements of the “Gloria," Vivaldi displays the whole range of his mastery from festive, sublime outer movements to tender, transparently scored solo passages.

The same mastery has also been applied to the “Kyrie” RV 587 scored for two choirs and two groups of stringed instruments. The date of its composition remains unclear. It is a purely a choral work without solo passages.

Both works can be performed independently but can also be combined as a kind of short mass. Although the authenticity of the autograph manuscript score is beyond doubt, these new editions contain some re-evaluations in phrasing and performance practice which go beyond what other editions have to offer. The piano reductions are straightforward, clearly presented and preserve the character of the works.

  • Attractive choral pieces which can be combined to form a short mass
  • Vocal score as well as choral score available for the “Gloria”
  • Informative foreword in German and English

Urtext edition. Vocal score edited by Malcolm Bruno and Caroline Ritchie. Arranged by Malcolm Bruno. Text in Latin with commentary in English and German.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Adagio (Kyrie)
  • II. Allegro (Christe)
  • III. Adagio (Kyrie)
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Vivaldi, Antonio
Arranger/Editor: Bruno / Ritchie
Catalog Number: BA8950-90
Pages: 27