Cantata No. 21 Ich hatte viel Bekummernis- Vocal Score

Catalog: BA10021-90

Price: $13.25

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Cantata for the 3rd Sunday after Trinity, BWV 4: Ich hatte viel Bekummernis (Lord my God, my heart and soul were sore distressed).

For Soprano solo, Alto solo, Tenor solo, Bass solo, Mixed choir (SATB), Oboe, Bassoon, Trumpet (3), Trombone (4), Timpani, Violin (2), Viola and Basso continuo.

Urtext edition. Vocal score edited by Robert Moreen, George S. Bozarth and Paul Brainard. Text in German and English. Orchestral material available separately.

The cantata “Ich hatte viel Bekummernis” dates from around 1713 and was probably performed for the first time that year in the Liebfrauenkirche in Halle. Its assigning to the third Sunday after Trinity probably only occurred the following year. With its large-scale structure and strong emphasis on biblical texts, it was extremely popular in the 19th century and remains one of Bach’s best-known cantatas today. The cantata is published here in a vocal score based on the New Bach Edition with an idiomatic, straightforward piano reduction by Martin Focke. With a foreword by Matthias Wendt.

  • One of Bach’s best-known cantatas
  • Urtext based on the “New Bach Edition”
  • Clear straightforward piano reduction

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Sinfonia
  • 2. Chorus: Ich hatte viel Bekummernis (Lord, my God, my heart and soul)
  • 3. Aria: Seufzer, Tranen, Kummer, Not (Sighing, weeping, sorrow, care)
  • 4. Recitativo: Wie hast du dich, mein Gott (Why hast Thou then, my God)
  • 5. Aria: Bache von gesalznen Zahren (From my eyes salt tears are flowing)
  • 6. Chorus: Was betrubst du dich, meine Seele (What doth trouble thee, o my spirit)
  • 7. Recitativo: Ach Jesu, meine Ruh (Ah, Jesus, my repose)
  • 8. Aria Duetto: Komm, mein Jesu, und erquicke (Come, my Jesus and restore me)
  • 9. Chorus: Sei nun wieder zufrieden (Come again and be rested)
  • 10. Aria: Erfreue dich, Seele (Rejoice O my spirit)
  • 11. Chorus: Das Lamm, das erwurget ist (The Lamb that was sacrificed)
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
Arranger/Editor: Moreen et. al.
Catalog Number: BA10021-90
Pages: 67