Groth Music home

String Quartet in F major, Op. 135 - Set of Parts

Catalog: HN744

Price: $32.36

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


String Quartet in F major, Op. 135

Set of Parts

Beethoven's Op. 135, one of the last works he composed, is equally famous for its compositional clarity and for the inadequacy of previous editions. The problem lies in the surviving sources, since Beethoven's autograph score contains a great many contradictions compared to his autograph set of parts. In 1827, after Beethoven's death, the German publisher of the first edition posthumously ironed out these discrepancies as he saw fit, and later editions simply adopted his interventions.

Rainer Cadenbach's volume is the first attempt to produce an authoritative text for Op. 135. Beethoven's contradictory formulations are laid bare, allowing musicians to make their own decisions.

This edition also finds room for ideal page turns.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Allegretto
  • II. Vivace
  • III. Assai lento, cantante e tranquillo
  • IV. Grave, ma non troppo tratto
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Beethoven, Ludwig van
Arranger/Editor: Cadenbach, Rainer
Catalog Number: HN744
Pages: 64

Related Products: