Sonata in G Major, E Minor, and Fugue in G Minor - Violin and Piano

Catalog: BA5167

Price: $20.66

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


This new edition supersedes the earlier performance edition of sonatas BWV 1021 and 1023 published in the New Bach Edition. Like other volumes recently issued in revised editions – Sonatas and Partitas for Violin (BA5116), Partita for Flute (BA5187), and Six Sonatas for Violin and Obbligato Harpsichord in one volume (BA5240) and in two volumes (BA5118-19) – these two sonatas have been re-evaluated on the basis of newly unearthed sources. The Fugue BWV 1026, long considered spurious, appears here for the first time in a scholarly-critical edition that places Bach’s authorship above reproach.

  • First critical edition of a work firmly attributed to Bach: the G minor Fugue, BWV 1026
  • Figured bass realization by Zvi Meniker
  • Two violin parts: an Urtext part and a part marked with fingering and bowing suggestions by Andrew Manze
  • Continuo part with bass figures

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Sonata in G major, BWV 1021
  • 2. Sonata in E minor, BWV 1023
  • 3. Fugue in G minor, BWV 1026
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
Arranger/Editor: Meniker et al.
Catalog Number: BA5167