Cadenzas to Beethoven's Violin Concerto, Op. 61 - Violin

Catalog: BA9020

Price: $30.56

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Beethoven himself left no cadenzas for his Violin Concerto. This edition is unique in drawing together for the first time a selection of cadenzas to one of the most famous works in the history of music, written by composers and violinists over 150 years. This publication contains not only the well-known cadenzas by Leopold Auer and Joseph Joachim, but also several which are seldom performed, such as those by Ferdinand David (the first surviving cadenza to op. 61), Louis Spohr , Eugene Ysaye , Camille Saint-Saens, Henri Vieuxtemps , Jakob Dont and, for the first time, one by Henryk Wieniawski .

Commentaries (German/English) on the composers and on performance practice are included. The edition complements the new piano reduction BA 9019a and will be invaluable for all violinists studying Beethoven’s Violin Concerto.

  • Indispensible for all violinists studying this masterpiece
  • First publication of a cadenza by Wieniawski
  • With notes on performance practice
  • With an informative, detailed preface (Ger/Eng)

Table of Contents:
  • Auer, Leopold I A
  • Auer, Leopold I B
  • Auer, Leopold II B
  • Auer, Leopold III B
  • Auer, Leopold, arr. Wulfhorst III B Eingang
  • Beethoven, arr. Novacek, Ottokar I
  • Beethoven, arr. Novacek, Ottokar II
  • Beethoven, arr. Wulfhorst II Fermata
  • Beethoven, arr. Wulfhorst III Eingang
  • Beethoven, arr. Wulfhorst
  • David, Ferdinand I
  • David, Ferdinand II
  • David, Ferdinand III
  • Dont, Jacob I
  • Dont, Jacob II
  • Dont, Jacob III
  • Joachim, Joseph I A (Schlesinger)
  • Joachim, Joseph II A (Schlesinger)
  • Joachim, Joseph II A (Haslinger)
  • Joachim, Joseph III A (Schlesinger)
  • Joachim, Joseph I B
  • Joachim, Joseph II B
  • Joachim, Joseph III B
  • Laub, Ferdinand I
  • Laub, Ferdinand II
  • Laub, Ferdinand III
  • Molique, Bernhard I
  • Molique, Bernhard II
  • Molique, Bernhard III
  • Saint-Saens, Camille I
  • Saint-Saens, Camille II
  • Saint-Saens, Camille III
  • Spohr, Louis I
  • Spohr, Louis II
  • Spohr, Louis III
  • Vieuxtemps, Henri I
  • Vieuxtemps, Henri II
  • Vieuxtemps, Henri III
  • Wieniawski, Henryk I
  • Ysaye, Eugene I
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Various
Arranger/Editor: Wulfhorst, Martin
Catalog Number: BA9020
Pages: 59

Related Products: