Sonatas, Vol. 1: Op. 5, Nos. 1-6 - Violin and Piano

Catalog: BA9455

Price: $35.06

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


Arcangelo Corelli, the violin virtuoso of his time, published his “Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo opus V” in Rome in 1700. These sonatas are a compendium of violin playing of his time and laid the groundwork for future violin compositions.

  • Score with realization of the basso continuo by Tonelli as well as Corelli’s unrealized figured bass line
  • With a separate Urtext violin part
  • With a separate unrealized figured continuo part
  • Includes a supplement with violin embellishments
  • Appendices in both volumes with source descriptions and critical commentaries
  • Preludes for keyboard instrument by Tonelli in the appendix of volume 2

"[T]his handsome Barenreiter publication is all that both the Baroque adicionado and modern player could wish for in its clear spacious text -informative introduction covering the sonatas' provenance, with additional notes on ornamentation; keyboard realisation; and featuring strikingly illustrated facsimile pages."
(Strings Marz 2014)

Table of Contents:
  • Sonatas op. 5 (Parte Prima):
  • i. Sonata I
  • ii. Sonata II
  • iii. Sonata III
  • iv. Sonata IV
  • v. Sonata V
  • vi. Sonata VI
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Corelli, Arcangelo
Arranger/Editor: Hogwood/Mark
Catalog Number: BA9455

Related Products: