Sonata, Andantino Quietoso, and Melancolie - Violin and Piano

Catalog: BA9425

Price: $23.36

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Cesar Franck’s Sonata for Piano and Violin is one of the most treasured works in the violin repertoire, a masterpiece of cyclic form with a gracefulness and expressive force almost paradigmatic for the age of musical Romanticism. This work was composed in 1886 and was dedicated to the Belgian violinist and composer Eugene Ysaye.

Barenreiter’s new edition, along with the Sonata, includes two short separate movements for the same instrumentation: the early “Andantino quietoso” op. 6 (1843), a hauntingly beautiful piece composed for performances with Franck’s violinist brother Joseph, as well as “Melancolie”, first published after Franck’s death in 1911. This second piece is based on a solfege exercise and written at the height of the composer’s creative powers, at about the same time as his famous violin sonata.

The edition is rounded off by an informative text on the genesis and reception history of the three compositions (Ger/Fr/Eng), a complete list of sources, editorial notes and a Critical Commentary (Eng).

  • Pioneering new Urtext edition
  • Informative text on the genesis and reception history of the sonata and its versions (Ger/Fr/Eng)
  • Two small individual movements for violin and piano published for the first time
  • Detailed Critical Commentary (Eng)

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Sonata
  • 2. Andantino quietoso, Op. 6
  • 3. Melancolie
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Franck, Cesar
Arranger/Editor: Woodfull-Harris, D.
Catalog Number: BA9425