Techniques of Violin Playing - Book with DVD

Catalog: BVK2267

Price: $75.00

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


Irvine Arditti who is an extraordinary violinist, a specialist for contemporary music and the leader of the phenomenal Arditti Quartet, worked together with the composer and conductor Robert HP Platz to produce this book on contemporary violin technique. It presents detailed explanations of the technical possibilities of the violin for performers and composers.

This publication takes into account the virtuosity of a new generation of soloists. These are soloists who with their exceptional ability, have succeeded in paving the way for a greater understanding of classical and contemporary music.

The chapters on bowing techniques, vibrato, pizzicato, glissando, flageolet, tablatures, rhythm and electronic sound production are illustrated with numerous musical examples and diagrams.

Particularly helpful is the accompanying DVD, where Arditti demonstrates and explains the described techniques. Chapters on the basics of violin technique and on Irvine Arditti’s personal experience with notable composers make the book equally interesting for non-violinists.

Table of Contents:
  • I. . Uber dieses Buch / About this book:
  • I. 1. Vorwort / Foreword
  • I. 2. Grundlagen / Basics
  • II. . Die Spieltechnik der Violine / Techniques of Violin Playing:
  • II. 1. Lagen / Positions
  • II. 2. Bogentechnik / Bowing
  • II. 3. Vibrato / Vibrato
  • II. 4. Pizzicato / Pizzicato
  • II. 5. Glissandi / Glissandi
  • II. 6. Flageoletts / Harmonics
  • II. 7. Tabulaturen / Tablature notation
  • II. 8. Rhythmus / Rhythm
  • II. 9. Violine und Elektronik / Violin and Electronics
  • III. . Anhang / Appendix:
  • III. 1. Eine Nachbemerkung / An Epilogue
  • III. 2. Thomas Ades: Piano Quintet / Thomas Ades: Piano Quintet
  • III. 3. Grifftabellen Violine und Viola / Violin and Viola gingering charts
  • III. 4. Bibliografie / Bibliography
  • III. 5. Register / Index
  • Uber die Autoren / About the authors

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Arditti/Platz
Catalog Number: BVK2267
Pages: 117