Groth Music home

6 Suites, BWV 1007-1012 - Cello Unaccompanied

Catalog: BA5217

Price: $59.36

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


This new edition has made use of all the five manuscript sources which have come down to us. The primary basis for it is the most reliable of these sources, the manuscript copy in the hand of Anna Magdalena Bach. All variant readings from the four other sources are clearly laid out for performance. Cellists now have the possibility of rendering performances based on just one of the five sources as well as the option of combining the sources in a mixed version.

Edited by Douglas Woodfull-Harris and Bettina Schwemer, this deluxe publication inclues seven components stored in a cardboard sleeve: a modern engraved performing edtion of the six suites, extensive critical notes with a discussion of performance practice in English and German, and five separate facsimile editions.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Performing edition of the Suites BWV 1007-1012
  • 2. Critical notes and discussion in German and English
  • 3a: Facsimile of Anna Magdalena Bach, manuscript copy (1727-1731)
  • 3b. Facsimile of Johann Peter Kellner, manuscript copy (1726)
  • 3c. Facsimile of anonymous copy (second half of the 18th century)
  • 3d. Facsimile of anonymous copy (late 18th century)
  • 3e. Facsimile of First Edition, Janet et Cotelle, Paris (1824)
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
Arranger/Editor: Schwemer et al.
Catalog Number: BA5217