Sonata No. 1 in D Minor - Cello and Piano

Catalog: BA9412

Price: $15.26

1 left in stock

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Sonata No. 1 in D minor for Violoncello and Piano

Debussy's "Sonate pour violoncello et piano" was composed in the summer of 1915. It was the first of a planned set of six sonatas for various instrumental combinations of which Debussy only completed three. Imbued with that unmistakable Debussy charm this work has remained a standard in the repertoire since the premiere. It is without question the most performed cello sonata of the 20th century.

Regina Back's Urtext edition for the first time makes use of Debussy’s sketches held in a private collection which contain not only an important comment by Debussy regarding the balance of the instruments but also clarify several musical ambiguities found in the autograph and first edition.

Barenreiter’s new Urtext edition comes with a detailed preface in German, English and French, elaborating not only on the genesis of the composition and its first performances but also providing performance practice information. The edition is rounded off with a facsimile and a critical commentary.

  • State-of-the-Art Barenreiter quality Urtext
  • Important new source
  • Critical Commentary in English and a Facsimile
  • Detailed preface in German, English and French

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Debussy, Claude
Arranger/Editor: Back/Woodfull-Harris
Catalog Number: BA9412
Pages: 57