Sonata -String Bass and Piano

Catalog: BA11530

Price: $24.95

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The renowned Czech bass player, composer and conductor Frantisek Hertl (1906–1973) led the double bass section of the Czech Philharmonic during the Vaclav Talich era and later taught at the Conservatory and the Academy of Musical Arts in Prague. An outstanding virtuoso, he had a consummate mastery of his instrument’s expressive potential and sound qualities. He also wrote successful concert and teaching pieces for his instrument.

Composed in 1946, Hertl’s only Sonata for Double Bass and Piano in three movements is a work of artistic and technical challenges that has maintained its place in the double bass repertoire to the present day.

  • New edition of a major repertoire piece for double bass
  • Foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger) by Hertl’s last pupil, Jan Balcar

Table of Contents:
  • I. Allegro moderato
  • II. Andantino
  • III. Rondo (Alla polka, moderato)

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Hertl, Frantisek
Catalog Number: BA11530