Sonata in A minor, D. 821 "Arpeggione" - Viola and Piano

Catalog: HN612

Price: $20.66

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Schubert wrote this sonata for a mostly-forgotten instrument alternately known as a "guitar-violoncello," "guitare d'amour," or as Schubert called it, an "arpeggione." Tuned like a guitar, the six-stringed instrument was held between the knees and bowed like a cello. Henle publishes both an edition for cello and the current edition for viola, as these are the instruments that most closely resemble the timbre of the arpeggione. The viola part has been arranged as closely as possible to the original music while still being playable. This is also the first publication to present Schubert's original musical text as taken from the autograph of the composition. If desired, a solo part for arpeggione is available for download from the publisher's website:

Table of Contents:
  • I. Allegro moderato
  • II. Adagio
  • III. Allegretto
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Schubert, Franz
Arranger/Editor: Seiffert et al.
Catalog Number: HN612
Pages: 64

Related Products: