Barber of Seville - Study Score

Catalog: TP411

Price: $55.53

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


This study score is based on the critical edition of “The Barber of Seville” edited by Patricia B. Brauner and published in 2008 as part of the series “Works of Gioachino Rossini”. But who needs a new critical edition of “The Barber of Seville”? The opera has been performed in theatres throughout the world since 1816 and has never been absent from the repertoire. There are two reasons for a critical new edition: firstly, none of the early editions satisfy modern demands for a scholarly-critical edition.

And secondly, there is a wealth of previously unpublished material relating to this opera, of great interest to both scholars and performers.

Thus the famous overture, which Rossini had already used in his earlier opera “Aureliano in Palmira”, differs noticeably from earlier editions in many places. The new edition enables performers to perform the overture either in its original scoring (as in “Aureliano in Palmira”), which includes two flutes, two oboes and timpani, or in the scoring for the subsequent opera “The Barber of Seville” (with just one flute, one oboe and no timpani).

A series of appendices contain music and information which have been included in no other edition of the opera to date.

  • Takes into account all original sources, also including five manuscripts with Rossini’s autograph ornamentation
  • Takes into consideration the full extent of Rossini’s personal notational characteristics
  • With a detailed foreword (Eng/Ital)

Librettist: Sterbini, Cesare (nach Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais)

Table of Contents:
  • 01. Preface
  • 02. Editorial Policy
  • 03. Abbrevations
  • 04. Orchestra
  • 05. Characters
  • 06. Index
  • 07. Sinfonia
  • 08. Act I
  • 09. Act II
  • Appendix I: Vocal variants of Rossini
  • Appendix II: Recitativo ed Aria N. 14bis added by Rossini for Josephine Fodor-Mainvielle
  • Appendix III: Two documented revivals from 1816
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Rossini, Gioachino
Arranger/Editor: Brauner, Patricia B.
Catalog Number: TP411
Pages: 552