String Quartet No. 1 in A Major, Op. 2 - Study Score

Catalog: TP539

Price: $24.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Dvorak was only twenty years old when he wrote his String Quartet No. 1 in A major, op. 2 (1862). The work is considered to be the composer’s second important work, after the String Quintet in A minor op. 1. Dvorak did not return to working on op. 2 until 1887, when he was revising his early works. He deleted sections from this substantial quartet sparing only the Scherzo; the other movements where all cut by up to a third. The work was finally premiered by orchestral musicians from the National Theatre, but a printed edition was not published until the middle of the 20th century.

This new Barenreiter edition presents the main musical text from the Complete Edition of 1989 which gives the work in its final form, after Dvorak’s revision. The edition is based on the autograph and on hand-written parts.

  • With updated foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger), which are based on the latest research findings

Table of Contents:
  • I. Andante. Allegro
  • II. Andante affettuoso ed appassionato
  • III. Allegro scherzando
  • IV. Allegro animato
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Dvorak, Antonin
Arranger/Editor: Burghauser & Cubr
Catalog Number: TP539
Pages: 88

Related Products: