Open Mon-Thurs 10-6, and Fri-Sat 10-4. In-store and curbside service available. Full COVID-19 Details

Magic Flute (Die Zauberflote), K. 620 - Vocal Score (German)

Catalog Number: BA4553-90

Price: $28.78

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


The Magic Flute, Kv 620

Opera in two acts.

Libretto by Emanuel Schikaneder.

Urtext edition. Vocal score arranged by Martin Schelhaas. Text in German. This vocal score includes all vocal parts with an accompanying piano reduction of the orchestral music.

This new vocal score is based on the Urtext score from the "New Mozart Edition" (NMA II/5/19) edited by Gernot Gruber and Alfred Orel as well as on the latest scholarly research from the Critical Commentary by Rudolf Faber published in 2006.

The Magic Flute remains Mozart's most popular opera worldwide to this day. Schikaneder's Freihaustheater auf der Wieden was a theatre in the suburbs of Vienna. It was a kind of people’s theatre with a corresponding repertoire and its attraction for the public was due not least to the use of spectacular stage effects. The concept 'machine-comedy' refers to the theatrical genre to which "The Magic Flute" owes its origins, and to which the work originally belonged. The premiere was given on 30 September 1791, conducted by Mozart.

With this new edition, Barenreiter has now published vocal scores to all Mozart’s stage works in revised or new editions. These editions offer a historically grounded working basis and will be decisive for Mozart reception for the forthcoming decades.

  • Vocal score based on the Urtext of the "New Mozart Edition"
  • Incorporates latest scholarly findings from the Critical Commentary of 2006
  • Clear and legible music layout, with an easy-to-play piano reduction
  • Extensive foreword in German and English by Dietrich Berke with notes on the work and performance practice

Table of Contents:

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Mozart, W. A.
Arranger/Editor: Schelhaas, Martin
Catalog Number: BA4553-90
Pages: 245

Related Products: