Groth Music home
Now Hiring! See Details

Six Epigraphs Antiques - 1 Piano, 4 Hands

Catalog: HN408

Price: $18.86

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Around 1900 Debussy composed 12 short pieces for two flutes, two harps and celesta as incidental music for the Chansons de Bilitis (recitation of ancient Greek poems by the courtesan Bilitis) by Pierre Louÿs. Although it was performed, the work was not published during Debussy's lifetime. The composer highly valued the work and returned to it in 1914, choosing six of the old pieces and reworking them into an important new cycle for piano four hands. At the same time he also completed a version for piano solo (HN 402). Debussy succeeded to transform the delicate incidental music into a colourful, sonorous piano setting in both versions.

Table of Contents:
  • Pour invoquer Pan, dieu du vent d'šetše
  • Pour un tombeau sans nom
  • Pour que la nuit soit propice
  • Pour la danseuse aux crotales
  • Pour l'Egyptienne
  • Pour remercier la pluie au matin

Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Debussy, Claude
Catalog Number: HN408
Pages: 36