Meditation from Thais - Violin and Piano

Catalog: EP7510

Price: $10.76

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Thais is the title of, and the lead character of, an opera in three acts, first performed in Paris in 1894, by Jules Massenet (1842-1912).  The Meditation is an entr'acte dividing the first and second scenes of Act 2, thus not integral to the plot or action.  It is often heard in churches, especially at weddings, but the Meditation, like the opera itself, is only tangentially related to the Christian faith.  Nevertheless, it is of a convenient length for service music. 

Originallly for violin and orchestra, the Meditation has been transcribed in numberless ways.  This edition, with introductory essay and textual commentary, is by Roger Nichols. 


Publisher: Peters
Composer/Author: Massenet, Jules
Arranger/Editor: Nichols, Roger
Catalog Number: EP7510
Pages: 13