Groth Music home
Now Hiring! See Details

Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 22 - Piano

Catalog: HN1355

Price: $27.86

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Given Saint-Saëns' talents both as pianist and composer, it stood to reason that he would engage with the piano concerto genre early on. But he gave a clear renunciation of the concerto brilliant that was dominant in France at that time, declaring instead that the solo part of a concerto must be set out, and treated, like a dramatic role. He realised this concept of a symphonic concerto in this second piano concerto, composed in 1868. The solo part is technically very challenging, and at the same time closely bound up with the orchestra. Johannes Umbreit is responsible for the piano reduction, based on the composer's own version for two pianos; Pascal Rogé supplies the fingerings for the solo part.

Included is a single score containing both the solo piano part and the orchestral reduction for second piano. Two copies are required for performance.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Andante sostenuto
  • II. Allegro scherzando
  • III. Presto
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Saint-Saens, Camille
Arranger/Editor: Jost, Peter
Catalog Number: HN1355
Pages: 78

Related Products: