Quintet, Op. 115 - Clarinet in A (or Viola) and String Quartet (Parts)

Catalog: EP3905C

Price: $37.76

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


The Clarinet Quintet dates from 1891, the same year as the Clarinet Trio.  It was first played in 1891 and published in 1892.  The manuscript score resides at the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna.  As of 2018, it seems to be neither digitized online nor currently published in facsimile. 

We carry a Dover score of the Quintet, in a book entitled "Complete Chamber Music for Strings and Clarinet Quintet," reproducing Volume 7 of the Breitkopf Complete Works edition of 1927 (Dover/Alfred 219143).

The Peters set of parts appears to be the last survivor in print of a series of Brahms chamber works edited by the Gewandhaus Quartet, the string quartet of the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig.  This practical performing edition of the Clarinet Quintet dates from 1925 and will be of special interest to string players.  A solo viola part is included as an alternative to the clarinet.    


Table of Contents:
  • 1. Allegro
  • 2. Adagio
  • 3. Andantino; Presto non assai, ma con sentimento
  • 4. Con moto
Publisher: Peters
Composer/Author: Brahms, Johannes
Arranger/Editor: Gewandhaus Quartet
Catalog Number: EP3905C
Pages: 63