Nonet - Mixed Nonet (Score)

Catalog: A7611SC

Price: $40.00

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Bohuslav Martinu (1890-1959), one of many European composers displaced by war, was born in Policka, Bohemia, then part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.  He lived in Prague from 1906 to 1923 (with some time spent back home), in Paris and Aix-en-Provence from 1923 to 1941, and in the United States from 1941, mostly in New York City.  He became an American citizen in 1952 but lived in mostly in Europe from 1953 on, dying in hospital at Liestal, Switzerland of inoperable stomach cancer.

In spite of his poor record at the Prague Conservatory, from which he was expelled, Martinu became a good enough violinist to play in the National Theatre Orchestra and the Czech Philharmonic.  He learned composition by listening to, observing, and memorizing a wide variety of music in Prague and in Paris.  Formal instruction in composition played a lesser role, although Albert Roussel was a valued advisor.  After moving to the United States, Martinu became active as a teacher at the Berkshire Music Center, the Mannes College of Music, Princeton University, the Curtis Institute, and the American Academy in Rome.  He began writing symphonies during his time in the USA.

Martinu's Nonet of 1959 is one of the composer's last completed works.  He was asked to write it for the 35th anniversary of the Czech Nonet, who performed it in July 1959 in Salzburg, less than a month before his death. 

For flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon, violin, viola, cello and double bass. Score only. Parts available separately.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Poco Allegro
  • 2. Andante
  • 3. Allegretto

Publisher: Kalmus
Composer/Author: Martinu, Bohuslav
Catalog Number: A7611SC
Pages: 77