La revue de cuisine - Mixed Sextet

Catalog: AL17700

Price: $50.00

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Bohuslav Martinu (1890-1959), one of many European composers displaced by war, was born in Policka, Bohemia, then part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.  He lived in Prague from 1906 to 1923 (with some time spent back home), in Paris and Aix-en-Provence from 1923 to 1941, and in the United States from 1941, mostly in New York City.  He became an American citizen in 1952 but lived in mostly in Europe from 1953 on, dying in hospital at Liestal, Switzerland of inoperable stomach cancer.

In spite of his poor record at the Prague Conservatory, from which he was expelled, Martinu became a good enough violinist to play in the National Theatre Orchestra and the Czech Philharmonic.  He learned composition by listening to, observing, and memorizing a wide variety of music in Prague and in Paris.  Formal instruction in composition played a lesser role, although Albert Roussel was a valued advisor.  After moving to the United States, Martinu became active as a teacher at the Berkshire Music Center, the Mannes College of Music, Princeton University, the Curtis Institute, and the American Academy in Rome.  He began writing symphonies during his time in the USA.

La revue de cuisine, a ballet, was first performed in Prague in 1927.  The Suite, of which this is the score and parts, was premiered in Paris in 1930.  The work calls for six instruments:  clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, violin, cello, and piano.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Prologue (Allegretto)
  • 2. Introduction (Tempo de marche)
  • 3. Danse du moulinet autour du caudron (Poco meno)
  • 4. Danse du chaudron et du couvercle (Allegro)
  • 5. Tango (Danse d'amour. Lento)
  • 6. Duel (Poco a poco allegro. Tempo di Charleston)
  • 7. Entracte (Lamentation du chaudron. Allegro moderato)
  • 8. Marche fun├Ębre (Adagio)
  • 9. Danse radieuse (Tempo di marche)
  • 10. Fin du drame (Allegretto)
Publisher: Alphonse Leduc
Composer/Author: Martinu, Bohuslav
Catalog Number: AL17700
Pages: 93