Concerto No. 1 - Cello and Piano

Catalog: ED4645

Price: $23.99

Expected to Ship in 1-3 Weeks

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher or manufacturer. Backorders average 1-3 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small companies, and temporarily unavailable items.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Concerto No. 1

Cello and piano reduction by Helmut Degen

Bohuslav Martinu (1890-1959), one of many European composers displaced by war, was born in Policka, Bohemia, then part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.  He lived in Prague from 1906 to 1923 (with some time spent back home), in Paris and Aix-en-Provence from 1923 to 1941, and in the United States from 1941, mostly in New York City.  He became an American citizen in 1952 but lived in mostly in Europe from 1953 on, dying in hospital at Liestal, Switzerland of inoperable stomach cancer.

In spite of his poor record at the Prague Conservatory, from which he was expelled, Martinu became a good enough violinist to play in the National Theatre Orchestra and the Czech Philharmonic.  He learned composition by listening to, observing, and memorizing a wide variety of music in Prague and in Paris.  Formal instruction in composition played a lesser role, although Albert Roussel was a valued advisor.  After moving to the United States, Martinu became active as a teacher at the Berkshire Music Center, the Mannes College of Music, Princeton University, the Curtis Institute, and the American Academy in Rome.  He began writing symphonies during his time in the USA.

The Cello Concerto No. 1 was written and re-written in 1930 (with chamber orchestra), in 1939 (with full orchestra), and in 1955 (with revised orchestration).  Gaspar Cassado played the first version and Pierre Fournier the second and third.



Table of Contents:
  • 1. Allegro poco moderato
  • 2. Andante moderato
  • 3. Allegro
Publisher: Schott
Composer/Author: Martinu, Bohuslav
Arranger/Editor: Degen, Helmut
Catalog Number: ED4645
Pages: 40