Concertino - Piano and 6 Instruments

Catalog: H4342

Regular Price: $26.50

On Sale for $13.25

6 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


In 1924 Janacek heard a performance by piano virtuoso Jan Herman which impressed him so much that he decided to write a concertante piece for piano. However, Janacek did not have a concerto with orchestra in mind, but a concertino, where other instruments would join the solo piano in a work betraying the austerity so typical of him: in the first movement just the French horn, in the second the E-flat clarinet, and then other instruments - two violins, viola and bassoon. After its premiere in February 1926 the Concertino was ranked among the most original chamber music scores by this composer, along with the wind sextet Youth (Mladi) and String Quartet No. 1.

Instrumentation: Piano Solo, Violin (2), Viola, Clarinet (in E-flat and B-flat), Horn, Bassoon


Note: This edition is printed in an 11" x 13.5" format.

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Janacek, Leos
Catalog Number: H4342