Angela Hewitt's Bach Book - Piano

Catalog: 48021015

Regular Price: $27.99

On Sale for $19.59

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Collection of 11 Bach transcriptions performed by concert pianist Angela Hewitt. Includes transcriptions by Hewitt, Walton, Howells, and newly commissioned transcriptions by Dean, Holloway, Kats-Chernin, and others.

"This work could be aptly titled 'Bach Re-Imagined for Piano,' as Bach's legacy is transcribed and transformed for today's pianists...As would be expected from a pianist of Hewitt's stature, the pieces mostly require advanced musicality and/or technique...Since the pieces are all relatively short, they would work well inserted into a solo recital program individually or as a small grouping." --American Music Teacher

"All three of Hewitt's transcriptions of Bach organ preludes are beautiful, lyrical, and wonderful additions to the literature...The variety featured in Hewitt's Bach Book for Piano will have something that appeals to everyone." --Clavier Companion

Table of Contents:
  • Prelude and Chorale (Brett Dean)
  • Herzlich tut mich verlangen, BWV 727 (J. S. Bach, arr. Walton)
  • Fantasia & Fuga, Op. 105 (Kurt Schwertsik)
  • Partitina: on the opening notes of J. S. Bach's "Golberg" bass (Robin Holloway)
  • O Mensch, bewein dein Sunde gross , BWV 622 (J. S. Bach, arr. Howells)
  • Fantasia on BACH (Yehudi Wyner)
  • Wenn wir in hochsten Noten sein, BWV 641 (J. S. Bach, arr Herwitt)
  • Das alte Jahr vergangen ist, BWV 614 (J. S. Bach, arr. Herwitt)
  • Fantasia on BACH (Dominic Muldowney)
  • Bach Study (Elena Kats-Chernin)
  • Alle Menschen mussen sterben, BWV 643 (J. S. Bach, arr. Herwitt)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Composer/Author: Bach et al.
Catalog Number: 48021015
Pages: 68