Groth Music home

Quintet in A major, Op. 5 - Piano, Two Violins, Viola and Cello

Catalog: BA11539

Price: $26.95

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


Piano Quintet in A major, Op. 5

for Piano, Two Violins, Viola and Cello

In 1887 Antonin Dvorak revised several of the works he had composed in the 1860s and 1870s, most of which he then published for the first time. In this context he asked the music critic Ludevít Procházka to return a manuscript copy of the Piano Quintet in A major, Op. 5 (B 28), composed 15 years earlier. But after thoroughly revising the work he declined to publish it; instead, he wrote a new piano quintet in the same key – the famous Op. 81.

And so, the manuscript copy he requested from Procházka remains the sole source for this early piece of chamber music. Dvorak’s first Piano Quintet in A major was never published during his lifetime.

This edition presents the musical text from the Complete Edition of the Works of Antonín Dvorak, Volume IV No. 11.

Edited by Jarmil Burghauser and Karel Solc.

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Dvorak, Antonin
Arranger/Editor: Burghauser and Solc
Catalog Number: BA11539
Pages: 108