Shady Grove and Other Songs from the Appalachian Mountains - Piano Solo

Catalog: ECS13436

Price: $12.56

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


This set of short pieces for piano solo is based on folksongs from the Appalachian Mountains. This music originated in the British Isles as unaccompanied ballads. The tunes were brought to the United States. As time passed, instruments were added – zither, banjo and, eventually, guitar. The guitar versions have become well-known “standards” of the American folk repertoire. Common traits of these songs are the modal/diatonic harmonies. The “refinement” of European chromaticism is absent. Root position chords and consonant sonorities are prevalent. A special challenge in creating piano arrangements has been to inject occasional “appropriate” dissonances to enliven the harmonies. In addition, the strophic, ballad style of the songs, which relies upon storytelling to maintain the dramatic interest, must now be replaced by musical variation and development. The intent has been to create new piano repertoire within the “folk spirit” – rough hewn, straightforward, energetic and beautiful.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Shady Grove
  • 2. Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies
  • 3. Three Ravens
  • 4. Interlude
  • 5. House Carpenter
Publisher: Galaxy
Composer/Author: Walker, Gwyneth
Catalog Number: ECS13436