Mondschatten - Violin and Marimba

Catalog: GM1842

Regular Price: $37.00

On Sale for $14.80

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Mondscatten (Moonshadow) was written in 2006 to a commission from the Cunz/Ott Duo, and is dedicated to the violinist Rahel Cunz and th epercussionist Jacqueline Ott Yesilalp.

After its opening knocking signals, the marimba follows different fragements of a developing line, from whose shadow the violin then frees itself. The composittion begins three times beofre the music is able to advance in an expressive counterpoint. A frenetic dance forms the starting-point of a continuous build-up of virtuosity, dynamics and aggression. Cries of despair. Reconciliation. Reminiscence. Elegy - lamentation. Contemplaion.

Mondscatten was inspired by the poem 'Abendland' by Georg Tralk (1887-1914.)



This piece contains separate violin and marimba parts.

Publisher: Kunzelmann
Composer/Author: Hefti, David Philip
Catalog Number: GM1842