Violin: A Collection - Violin and Piano

Catalog: CH69641

Regular Price: $29.95

On Sale for $20.97

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


In February 2005, the Music Sales Group presented a concert of violin music at the Wigmore Hall in London to launch the Wigmore Hall New Music Fund, set up to promote the commissioning and performance of new works for the important international recital venue. This title contains works from that performance by fourteen of the very best contemporary composers, including Philip Glass, Kaija Saariaho and Peter Maxwell Davies, as well as world premieres from Joby Talbot, Craig Armstrong, John Tavener and Judith Weir. The pieces in this book have been specially selected for their accessibility, making this folio suitable for players of a wide range of abilities from elementary level (1st to 3rd position only) to shorter but more challenging, adventurous and unusual works. The set as a whole represents the large amount of variety and character alive in today's top-level compositions. An excellent repertoire source that is fresh, exciting and highly accessible.

Table of Contents:
  • My love is like a red, red rose - Traditional, arr. Craig Armstrong
  • Six Country Dances, No. 3: The Ladies' Misfortune - Richard Rodney Bennett
  • Four Scottish Dances, Op. 39 No. 3 - Malcolm Arnold, arr. David Gedge
  • Knee 2 - Philip Glass
  • Recitativo e Arioso - Witold Lutoslawski
  • Six Country Dances, No. 2: Buskin - Richard Rodney Bennett
  • Mrs Linklater's Tune - Peter Maxwell Davies
  • Ritual Fire Dance (Danza Rituel del Fuego) - Manuel de Falla, arr. Paul Kochanski
  • For Latin Lovers - Brian Chapple
  • Miserere Paraphrase - Michael Nyman
  • Mouvements Perpetuels - Francis Poulenc, arr. Jascha Heifetz
  • Nocturne - Kaija Saariaho
  • Vanishing Point - Joby Talbot
  • Fragment for the Virgin - John Tavener
  • Rain and mist are on the mountain, I'd better buy some shoes (Violin Duet) - Judith Weir
Publisher: Music Sales
Composer/Author: Various
Catalog Number: CH69641
Pages: 102