Sonata in C Major, Op. 40, No. 1 - Cello and Piano

Catalog: BA10698

Regular Price: $15.95

On Sale for $6.38

1 left in stock

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Sonata in C major, Op. 40 No. 1

Jean-Baptiste Breval (1753–1823) was a member of the orchestra at the Paris Opera and also a prolific composer. His works include concertos for cello, string quartets, comic operas and a violoncello tutor.

However he is best-known for the Sonata in C major which has become a standard work for teaching purposes, even in arrangements for other instruments. The two movements (Allegro and Rondo grazioso) can also be performed independently from one another. This sonata belongs to the basic repertoire of every young cellist.

  • Ideal for the first "proper" recital
  • Of moderate technical difficulty but with brilliant impact
  • Duration: approx. 8 minutes

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Breval, Jean-Baptist
Arranger/Editor: Sassmannshaus, C.
Catalog Number: BA10698
Pages: 19