Violin Hymns and Obbligatos, Volume 1 - Violin

Catalog: 301776L

Price: $21.95

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


Violin Hymns and Obbligatos for the Church Year, Volume 1. Hymn tunes often spring to life with the introduction of a new timbre, such as the violin, but it is often difficult to know how or where to utilize the welcome addition. These collections solve that problem and give violinists the opportunity to enhance the music of the church, whether it be a featured number listed in the order of worship, or an unscheduled addition to a congregational hymn. Well-suited to the average violinist, these obbligatos are very flexible and may be performed as solos--alone or accompanied by any typical hymnbook harmonization, violin duets between the provided hymn tune and obbligato, or as accents to congregational singing. Where several keys are standard for the same hymn tune, all have been included.

Table of Contents:
  • When I Survey the Wondrous Cross
  • Take Up Your Cross
  • Jesus, Keep Me Near the Cross
  • Alas, and Did My Savior Bleed
  • Man of Sorrows, What a Name
  • In the Cross of Christ I Glory
  • O Sacred Head Now Wounded
  • All Glory, Laud and Honor
  • We Three Kings of Orient Are
  • O Sing a Song of Bethlehem
  • God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen
  • While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks
  • Silent Night, Holy Night
  • Angels We Have Heard on High
  • Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne
  • Birthday of a King
  • Infant Holy, Infant Lowly
  • Hark! the Herald Angels Sing
  • Gentle Mary Laid Her Child
  • Joy to the World
  • First Nowell
  • It Came Upon the Midnight Clear
  • O Come, All Ye Faithful
  • Away in a Manger
  • O Little Town of Bethlehem
  • Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus
  • O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
  • Beneath the Cross of Jesus
  • Crown Him with Many Crowns
  • O For a Thousand Tongues To Sing
  • Praise God from Whom All Blessings Flow
  • Am I a Soldier of the Cross
  • O Master Let Me Walk with Thee
  • Break Thou the Bread of Life
  • Blest Be the Tie That Binds
  • All People That on Earth Do Dwell
  • As Pants the Hart for Cooling Streams
  • Come, Holy Spirit, Dove Divine
  • For All Thy Saints O Lord
  • Guide Me, O Thou Great Jehovah
  • Here, at Your Table, Lord
  • Jesus, Thou Joy of Loving Hearts
  • Love Divine, All Loves Excelling
  • O Lord, How Shall I Meet You?
  • O Thou My Soul, Return in Peace
  • Praise the Lord! Ye Heavens, Adore Him
  • Day of Resurrection!
  • There's a Song in the Air
  • Word of God Across the Ages
  • Ye Servants of God
  • Parting Hymn We Sing
  • God of Grace and God of Glory
  • Strife Is O'er
  • Christ the Lord Is Risen Today
  • Lift High the Cross
  • Thine Is the Glory
  • And Can It Be
  • O Perfect Love
  • Come, Ye Thankful People, Come
  • We Gather Together
  • O Worship the King
  • Savior, Like a Shepherd, Lead Us
  • Lead On, O King Eternal
  • God of Abraham Praise
  • Be Still My Soul
  • Fairest Lord Jesus
  • We Are God's People
  • I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say
  • Church's One Foundation
  • How Firm a Foundation
  • Holy, Holy, Holy
  • All Hail the Power of Jesus' Name
  • Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee
  • Praise to the Lord, the Almighty
  • Glorious Things of Thee Are Spoken
  • Stand Up and Bless the Lord
Publisher: Lorenz
Composer/Author: Various
Arranger/Editor: Smith, Douglas
Catalog Number: 301776L
Pages: 80

Related Products: