Dance Preludes - Clarinet Quartet

Catalog: CQ6443EM

Price: $30.00

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Originally written in 1954 for clarinet and piano, Lutoslawski subsequently made two orchestral versions. One closely adheres to the original with the clarinet as soloist; the other, made in 1959 for a larger group, breaks up the solo line and shares it between several instruments. All five movements are based on Polish folk dance rhythms if not actual folk tunes. Lutoslawski has not identified them but they follow the general dictum that 'the tempo of Polish folksongs changes almost from bar to bar’. This version has been arranged for 3 clarinets and bass clarinet by one of the Flanders Clarinet Quartet members, Karel Plessers. The solo part is played entirely by the first clarinet. Includes score and parts.

Publisher: Metropolis
Composer/Author: Lutoslawski, Witold
Arranger/Editor: Plessers, Karel
Catalog Number: CQ6443EM

Related Products: