Multiple-Percussion Book, The - Book with CD

Catalog: O5461

Price: $22.45

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The perfect resource for the serious percussionist and non-percussionist music educators, The Multiple Percussion Book introduces and provides etudes for the tremendous variety of concepts, styles and techniques the modern percussion player is likely to encounter. Expanded percussion usage by contemporary classical composers has led to a bewildering number of notational devices as well as the expansion of traditional practice. This book lucidly describes and demonstrates many of these fascinating developments through the examples and ├ętudes. It also includes an introduction by percussion superstar, Evelyn Glennie and a CD demonstrating many of the concepts and techniques in the book.

Author Dr. Nick Petrella was Director of Percussion Studies at Texas Christian University from 1996 to 2001. He also maintains a full schedule as a freelance musician in the Dallas/Fort Worth area and is very active in commissioning new music from a wide variety of contemporary composers. Dr. John Allemeier, who contributed the etudes in The Multiple Percussion Book, has a Ph.D. in music composition from the University of Iowa and a Master of Music in composition from North Western University. His composition teachers have included David Gompper, D. Martin Jenni, M. William Karlin and Michael Pisaro.

Table of Contents:
  • 01. Foreward by Evelyn Glennie
  • 02. Preface
  • 03. Notation
  • 04. Instrument Selection
  • 05. Instrument Set-up
  • 06. Music Stand Placement and Music Reproduction
  • 07. Implement Selection
  • 08. Fluid Motion
  • 09. Musicality
  • 10. Addition Consideration
  • 11. Definition of Symbols
  • 12. Etudes
  • 13. About the Author
  • 14. About the Composer
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Composer/Author: Petrella, Nick
Arranger/Editor: Allemeier, John
Catalog Number: O5461
Pages: 82