Groth Music home

Be quiet, chatter not: Cantata, BWV 211 "Coffee Cantata" - Vocal Score

Catalog: BA10211-90

Price: $10.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Cantata BWV 211: Schweiget stille, plauder nicht (Be quiet, chatter not) "Coffee Cantata."

For Soprano solo, Tenor solo, Bass solo, Flute, Violin (2), Viola, Harpsichord and Basso continuo.

Urtext edition. Vocal score edited by Werner Neumann and arranged by Andreas Kohs. Text in German and English. Orchestral material available separately. With a foreword by Andreas Glockner.

The Coffee Cantata and the Peasant Cantata, both on librettos by Picander, are among the best-known and most frequently performed of Bach's secular cantatas.

Written in or around 1733, the Coffee Cantata deals humorously with the importance of the newly fashionable beverage. This is demonstrated in the soprano aria "Ah, how sweet the coffee tastes, lovelier than a thousand kisses, milder than Muscatel."

Both cantatas reveal Bach's mastery in their unusual subject-matter, formal design, and musical workmanship. Now they appear in separate editions based on the "New Bach Edition" with straightforward and easy-to-play piano reductions by Andreas Kohs.

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
Arranger/Editor: Neumann, Werner
Catalog Number: BA10211-90
Pages: 44