Sonata in A Minor, D. 821 "Arpeggione" - Cello and Piano

Catalog: UT50402

Price: $17.05

Expected to Ship in 1-3 Weeks

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher or manufacturer. Backorders average 1-3 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small companies, and temporarily unavailable items.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Sonata in A minor, D. 821 "Arpeggione"

Version for cello and piano

It is argued that the arpeggione (think: bowed guitar) would have been left as a trivia question for historians had Schubert not written this particular Sonata. By the time this 1824 composition was first published in 1871, the arpeggione had already fallen out of favor and out of use. Even the first publication indicated the violoncello as the viable alternative solo.

The editors have gone back to the autograph, which resides at the National Library of France, together with the contemporary arrangement for violin by Diabelli, in creating this critical edition. The history of the sonata and this edition, together with performance notes and critical commentary, are included.

Edited and with notes on interpretation by Christa Jost and Gerhart Darmstadt. Urtext edition.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Allegro moderato
  • 2. Adagio
  • 3. Allegretto
Publisher: Wiener Urtext
Composer/Author: Schubert, Franz
Arranger/Editor: Jost/Darmstadt
Catalog Number: UT50402
Pages: 71