Groth Music home

Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34 - Piano, 2 Violins, Viola and Cello

Catalog: BA10915

Price: $41.99

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34

for Piano, Two Violins, Viola and Cello

Barenreiter's scholarly-critical edition of Brahms’ popular Quintet in F minor for piano and strings contains everything a cutting edge Urtext edition is meant to offer. It presents a solid and wellresearched musical text based on Brahms' autograph as well as the first edition, and draws on the autograph of the two-piano version (composed six years later) for purposes of comparison. The edition also contains a discussion of the work’s historical context and performance practice as well as a comprehensive Critical Commentary with an evaluation of the sources and alternative readings.

The editor, Daniel Boomhower, deals with the conflicting readings between the string parts in the autograph engraver’s copy and those found in small print in the first published score as well as in the separate parts for that edition. Relevant readings from the two-piano version appear in the appendix of the Critical Commentary.

  • New Barenreiter Urtext edition
  • Exhaustive study of conflicting readings
  • Notes on performance practice in English and German
  • Informative Foreword in English and German and Critical Commentary in English
  • Publisher: Bärenreiter
    Composer/Author: Brahms, Johannes
    Arranger/Editor: Boomhower, Daniel F.
    Catalog Number: BA10915
    Pages: 140