Groth Music home

Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17 - Vocal Score (German / Italian)

Catalog Number: BA4078-90

Price: $64.95

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17

Opera in three acts. Libretto by Nicola Francesco Haym.

For Soprano solo (2), Alto solo (4), Bass solo (2) and Orchestra.

Urtext edition. Vocal score arranged by Karl-Heinz Muller and translated by Eberhard Schmidt. Text in German and Italian with commentary in German and English.

During Handel’s lifetime Giulio Cesare in Egitto was among his most successful operas. Today it is still one of the most frequently performed, owing to the rich variety of its scenes and its remarkably inventive arias and ensembles, which embellish the underlying affects with virtuoso aplomb.

The piano writing contains the musical numbers from the main version and observes the editorial decisions in Zschoch’s volume, thereby making it possible to prepare authentic performances of what is perhaps Handel’s most popular opera. • Vocal score of the main version, based on the Urtext from the "Halle Handel Edition"

  • Clear, easy-to-play piano reduction
  • Italian text underlaid with newly revised singable German translation
  • German and English preface with information on performance history and editorial principles

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Handel, G. F.
Artist: Nicola F. Haym
Arranger/Editor: Muller, Karl-Heinz
Catalog Number: BA4078-90
Pages: 318