Black Friday Sale: Use code 202020 for 20% OFF! Some exclusions due to manufacturer restrictions.

Concert Works for Piano and Orchestra - 2 Pianos, 4 Hands

Catalog Number: 51600023

Price: $32.35

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Chopin wrote works for piano and orchestra between 1827 and 1832. These include Variations on “La ci darem la mano” from Don Giovanni in B-flat Major, Op. 2; Fantasia on Polish Airs in A Major, Op. 13; and Krakowiak in F Major, Op. 14. They show the gradual definition and maturity of the composer's style, emphasizing his Polish heritage. 00132229 is the version for solo piano. Full scores are also available: 00132348 is the full score of Variations, Op. 2. 00132257 is the full score for Fantasia, Op. 13. 00132274 is the full score for Krakowiak, Op. 14.

The objective of the National Edition is to present Chopin's complete output in its authentic form, based on the entire body of available sources. Sources were analyzed with up-to-date scientific and musicological methodology.

The National Edition was based on sources originated from the composer, mainly autographs, copies of autographs and first editions with the composer's corrections, and pupils' copies with Chopin's annotations. In cases when original sources were lacking, the closest possible materials were used. Collecting the source materials was a laborious task which took years of effort.

The characteristics of sources, the links and discrepancies between them as well as the reasons for particular editorial decisions are discussed in the Source Commentary in each volume.

The Performance Commentary appended to each volume includes: the realization of ornaments, comments on pedal markings (the original markings sometimes are inadequate, due to the difference in sound between pianos used in Chopin`s times and modern pianos), suggestions as to the “harmonic legato” (a performance technique often used by Chopin and now forgotten).

Table of Contents:
  • Variations, Op. 2
  • Fantasia, Op. 13
  • Krakowiak, Op. 14
  • Polonaise, Op. 22

    Publisher: PWM Edition
    Composer/Author: Chopin, Frederic
    Arranger/Editor: Ekier, Jan
    Catalog Number: 51600023
    Pages: 86

  • Loading...