Groth Music home
Groth Music home
Cart (0)

Concerto in G minor, BWV 1056 - Violin and Piano

Catalog: BA5146-90

Price: $12.50

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.



for Violin, Strings and Basso Continuo (reconstructed from BWV 1056)

This edition presents an arrangement for solo violin with a piano accompaniment. Piano reduction by Martin Schelhaas.

This violin concerto in G minor has not come down to us in the form presented here. It has been reconstructed from a lost violin concerto that survives solely in Bach’s arrangement for harpsichord, namely, as the Harpsichord Concerto in F minor, BWV 1056.

The reconstruction is based on a meticulous evaluation of those autograph harpsichord concertos that also survive in an original version for violin. In particular, the autograph harpsichord parts contain changes that Bach made when preparing his arrangements, thereby revealing the manner in which he transcribed his solo violin works for the harpsichord.

The keyboard realization is presented in a transparent way allowing players the possibility to embellish and fill in the harmonies at their discretion.

  • Reconstructed from the Urtext of the "New Bach Edition"
  • Meticulous analysis and evaluation of the sources
  • Interpretative leeway for keyboard players

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
Artist: Martin Schelhaas
Arranger/Editor: Fischer, Wilfried
Catalog Number: BA5146-90
Pages: 19