Octet for Strings Op. 20 - Study Score

Catalog: PB5202

Price: $21.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Urtext edition of the Octet for Strings Opus 20, score only.  Parts sold separately: KM2297.  For four violins, two violas, and two cellos.

The work crosses the boundaries from chamber music to orchestral ensemble not only in the form of the famous Scherzo which Mendelssohn expanded through additional wind parts and inserted into the London version of the First Symphony op. 11. A composers note in the printed edition of the parts reads: "This Octet must be played in all parts in the style of a symphony; the Pianos and Fort├ęs must be executed with great precision and shaped more distinctly and individually than is otherwise customary in pieces of this genre." The present new editions of the parts and study score are based on the volume of the Mendelssohn Complete Edition and present an authoritative text based on all major sources.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Allegro moderato, ma con fuoco
  • 2. Andante
  • 3. Scherzo: Allegro leggierissimo
  • 4. Presto
Publisher: Breitkopf
Composer/Author: Mendelssohn, Felix
Arranger/Editor: Wehner, Ralf
Catalog Number: PB5202

Related Products: