5 Pieces in Folk Style, Op. 102 - Cello and Piano

Catalog: HN910

Price: $21.56

1 left in stock

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Originally composed for violoncello and piano, Schumann's opus 102 was also published in an edition for violin. In this new Urtext edition, practice-oriented string fingerings are included making this work excellently suited for the teaching of intermediate level students and beyond. Celebrating the 200th anniversary of Schumann's birth, Henle has released these rarely heard miniatures for cello and piano. They are quirky and short, but more substantial than first meets the ear...Goethe's poem Vanitas! vanitatum vanitas! gives the first spirited piece its title--in contrast, the second is pastoral and nostalgic. The third allows the cello full romantic rein in a sonorous melody, while the fourth is a joyous dance giving way to a mellow tune. The fifth and lengthier last piece rounds out the set, reminiscent of the first.

Review from Strings magazine

Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Schumann, Robert
Arranger/Editor: Herttrich, Ernst
Catalog Number: HN910