Groth Music home

Sonatine, Op. 36 - Bass Clarinet and Piano

Catalog: ALEA1017

Price: $20.00

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Wolfgang Gabriel's Sonatine Op.36 (1977) is a stunning three-movement work for bass clarinet and piano, and like his Sonata, is a fine addition to the bass clarinet repertoire. All three movements make use of the full range of the instrument in a lyric context, requiring familiarity and comfort with the altissimo register. The work does not, however, require an extended range instrument.

In the first movement, Andantino, the bass clarinet and piano exchange melodic ideas amidst frequent changes of tempo and meter. The second movement is a beautifully lyric Adagio. The last movement is a dramatic Allegrissimo complete with a cadenza for the bass clarinet. As a true chamber work, there are challenges to be found for both performers. The duration is approximately 12 minutes.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Andantino
  • 2. Largo
  • 3. Allegrissimo

  • Publisher: Alea Publishing
    Composer/Author: Gabriel, Wolfgang
    Catalog Number: ALEA1017