Groth Music home

Concerto (Second Edition) - Bass Clarinet and Piano

Catalog: ALEA1067B

Price: $20.00

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Known affectionately as 'Basso' by Geraldine, her friends and family, the Bass Clarinet Concerto was inspired immediately after the composer purchased her first bass clarinet in 1992. The score was comleted in the September of that year, only five weeks after it was begun, such was the affinity she had for the instrument.

The piece has three movements and its total duration is approximately 23 minutes. The first and third movements are generally jovial and mischievous in character, while the second is more austere, demonstrating the bass clarinet's darker side. The work is centered around the key of B flat major so that the use of the bass clarinet's bottom C could be indulged in to the fullest.

In January 1993 the concerto received its world premiere in St. Cyprian's Church, central London, with Anthony Davie conducting the London 20 strings and Geraldine as the soloist. It received an extremely warm and enthusiastic response from the audience and Geraldine still remembers the whole event very fondly.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Moderato Pesante
  • 2. Adagio ma non Troppo
  • 3. Allegro Moderato
Publisher: Alea Publishing
Composer/Author: Green, Geraldine
Catalog Number: ALEA1067B