Larry Teal - There Will Never Be Another You

Catalog: NASA1002

Price: $20.00

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Larry Teal: There Will Never Be Another You, written by Dr. Mary Durden Teal and edited by Thomas Liley¸ traces the life of the first university professor of saxophone in the United States. Dr. Mary Teal, professor emeritus at Eastern Michigan University, is a highly regarded author whose work is found in the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and the New Grove Dictionary of Opera.

The biography follows Larry Teal’s career from vaudeville, the popular music of the 1920s, theater and radio orchestras, and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra through his groundbreaking tenure at the University of Michigan. Teal’s relationship with Bernhard Heiden, who wrote his famous Sonata for him, is discussed, as well as Teal’s historic performances of Glazounov’s Concerto and the Concertino da Camera by Ibert.

The soft cover book is 272 pages in length and is generously illustrated with 24 photographs. It provides a window to the history of the saxophone in the United States and how it was influenced by one of our instrument’s most significant teachers.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Setting the Stage
  • 2. Family Life
  • 3. Jack of Many Trades
  • 4. Dentistry or Jazzin'
  • 5. A Musician's Life
  • 6. Radio Star
  • 7. Between Two Worlds
  • 8. The Classical World Beckons
  • 9. A Decade of Change
  • 10. A New Era of Saxophone Playing
  • 11. The Saxophone: No Longer a Musical Joke
  • 12. Retirement - But Not from Music
Publisher: NASA
Composer/Author: Teal, Mary
Arranger/Editor: Liley, Thomas
Catalog Number: NASA1002
Pages: 262