Sonata in G Minor - Cello and Piano

Catalog: BA10699

Regular Price: $13.25

On Sale for $5.30

1 left in stock

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Henry Eccles left behind a number of smaller works most of which were written for violins or flutes. However, the most famous is this Sonata in G minor. Though often played in transcription by violinists and especially by double bass players, the sonata was originally published for cello in four movements – Prelude, Courante, Sarabande and Gigue – accompanied by a figured bass. Little is known about Henry Eccles. Neither his birth nor his death date has been firmly established, ranging respectively between 1675-85 and 1735-45. It is not even certain that he composed this sonata. He probably hailed from London and later served at the court of Louis XV in France.

The editor Christoph Sassmannshaus, is the grandson of Egon Sassmannshaus, the founder of the “Early Start” series of string methods.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Praludium
  • 2. Courante
  • 3. Sarabande
  • 4. Gigue
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Eccles, Henry
Arranger/Editor: Sassmannshaus, C.
Catalog Number: BA10699