Variations and Fugue on a Christmas Carol - Organ

Catalog: ECS8764

Price: $9.90

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.

This score is based on the old British Carol "I saw three ships." There are seven variations preceding the fugue. After the theme has been stated, the first two variations extend the theme; the third variation introduces the pedals. The next three variations are in the style of Baroque genres: the fourth variation is a noël written as an homage to Daquin; the fifth variation is a figured chorale, in which the chorale Von Himmel hoch, da komm ich her makes its first appearance; and the sixth is a Handelian rigaudon. The seventh variation is a “carillion” in which Von Himmel hoch reappears. After a dramatic, dissonant chord, the score concludes with a chorale fugue during which Von Himmel hoch appears in the pedal. Composed for and dedicated to David Higgs, in celebration of his twenty-five years of teaching at the Eastman School of Music. Duration: 6:45

Table of Contents:

Publisher: ECS Publishing
Composer/Author: Adams, Byron
Catalog Number: ECS8764