Groth Music home

Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43 - Clarinet and Piano

Catalog: JP2069

Price: $9.00

2 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Niels Wilhelm Gade (1817-1890) was a major figure in nineteenth century Danish music, having important and influential positions as a composer, conductor, organist, violinist, teacher, and administrator. He furthered the careers of many important musicians, among them Carl Nielsen, who he taught at the Copenhagen Academy of Music.

Gade's "Fantasistykker (Fantasy Pieces) for Clarinet and Piano" was composed in 1864. Three of the four pieces were written in typical mid-romantic style; however, the third piece, and the only one with a title, Ballade, was influenced by Nordic folklore. "Fantasistykker" was one of Gade's most popular works during his lifetime. It was originally intended for either clarinet or violin. This edition, edited by John Anderson, includes the solo clarinet and piano parts. Approximate duration 12:55 (2:11, 2:18, 5:11, 3:15)

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Andantino con moto
  • 2. Allegro vivace
  • 3. Ballade
  • 4. Allegro molto vivace
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
Composer/Author: Gade, Niels
Arranger/Editor: Anderson, John
Catalog Number: JP2069