Concertino, Op. 26 - Clarinet and Piano

Catalog: JP2101

Price: $13.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


German composer Carl Maria von Weber is most remembered for being the father of Romantic opera. His friendship with the great 19th-century clarinet virtuoso Heinrich Baermann (1784-1847) led to the composition of some of the most revered solo works for the clarinet. Weber's thorough knowledge of the clarinet, combined with his magnificent melodic gift, has been celebrated by clarinetists for over two centuries.

Concertino was composed in 1811 when Weber was 24 years old. This work was Weber's first composition for solo clarinet and was soon followed by two concertos, a quintet for clarinet and string quartet, a duo concertante for clarinet and piano, and other incidental solo pieces. According to the eminent clarinet scholar Pamela Weston, Concertino was composed in three days, and Baermann had just three days to prepare his part. Concertino was premiered in Munich on April 5, 1811 and was enthusiastically received. The King of Bavaria was in attendance and immediately commissioned Weber to compose two concertos for Baermann. Concertino is brilliantly written and allows the soloist to showcase the complete palette of the clarinet's musical and technical capabilities.

This new edition is part of the Jeanne Master Class Series and contains interpretive and technical suggestions by Mitchell Estrin, Professor of Clarinet at the University of Florida, Buffet Clarinet Artist, and a Vandoren Performing Artist .

Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
Composer/Author: Weber, C. M. von
Arranger/Editor: Estrin, Mitchell
Catalog Number: JP2101