Wolf-Temperiertes Klavier - Piano

Catalog: Z15087

Regular Price: $39.95

On Sale for $27.97

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


I finished this composition at age seventy after more than one year's work. Every minute spent with these pieces has been a pleasure for me. Of these twenty-four character-pieces, one was written previously, the theme of another was used in a stage work forty years ago, and all the others are fresh compositions. One piece has been written in every major and minor key of the twelve chromatic pitches.

Thanks are due to many for the creation of the Wolf-temperieres Klavier. However in this story, the pianist József Balog got the main role. László Kovács, who has often conducted my compositions, recommended him to premiere my two piano concertos. Through these works we met and an old idea began to stir within me: to write piano pieces.

Combining a whimsical wordplay opportunity given by my name along with (more importantly) my admiration for Bach, I coined the title Wolf-temperiertes Klavier: the piano tuned according to me. These are my moods, my thoughts, my desires, and my reflections, some of which are my favorites. However, others may identify more strongly with particular movements, and different people will certainly feel different sensations from this music. This is my mirror, but everyone can see themselves in it.

I think I managed to find expressive titles. The first piece, Epiclesis (a prayer for inspiration, patience, and support), was heard and answered from above: I was able to work continuously and without inhibitions. The works could be born in every key until the last one, the Epilogue, was completed. When I finally finished inscribing the musical motif signifying Bach's name, I admit, a little shiver went through me. (Péter Wolf)

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Epiclesis
  • 2. Stream
  • 3. Rise of Day
  • 4. Ostinato
  • 5. Scherzo
  • 6. Sunset
  • 7. Get up!
  • 8. Fog
  • 9. Adagio
  • 10. Moving
  • 11. Rain
  • 12. Bitter tango
  • 13. Whirl
  • 14. Old Castle
  • 15. Bonjour M. Debussy
  • 16. Moorland
  • 17. Teetotum
  • 18. Aquarelle
  • 19. Dances
  • 20. Jasmine
  • 21. Sigh
  • 22. Frederic & George
  • 23. Morning Smile
  • 24. Epilogue
Sample Pages
Publisher: EMB
Composer/Author: Wolf, Peter
Catalog Number: Z15087
Pages: 126